9/14/2007: Denis Goldberg claiming he has inheriteted Zenzo Nkobi’s workings

On 9/14/07, Piers Pigou wrote:

Dear ….  Nkobi
……….

[deleted]

This e mail incidentally contained the follow-up of an email conversation Mr Pigou had with Denis Golberg on the issue of ownership of the photo archive.

From: Denis Goldberg [mailto:dengoldberg@mweb.co.za]
Sent: Thursday, March 29, 2007 2:22 PM
To: Piers Pigou
Subject: Zenzo Nkobi photographic archive

Dear Piers

In reply to what you wrote [see below]

Thanks for your willingness to take on the Zenzo Nkobi photographic archive.

Your provisional outline of what might be done with the material fits the ideas my late wife, the widow of Zenso Nkobi, and I had arrived at. The point is for the material to become available to those who wish to use it primarily for historical research.

I shall be away for a couple of weeks and from last third of April I shall start preparing the material to get it sent up to you. I shall send digital records separately from the originals. I shall then be away again for virtually the whole of June.

I shall give you a letter stating that Edelgard Nobi inherited the materials from her late husband Zenso Nkobi. That she preserved the materials and arranged to have it digitised. She married me in 2002 and died in 2007, leaving her entire estate to me. I shall pass the rights to the collection to SAHA as part of its collection of historical materials.
regards
Denis

About this entry